About Us

FCC Announces Agenda of Second Future of Media Workshop

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:                                                                   
April 23, 2010

Janice Wise: 202-418-8165
Email: Janice.Wise@fcc.gov

FCC Announces Agenda of Second Future of Media Workshop:
"Public and Other Noncommercial Media in the Digital Era"

Washington, D.C. -- As part of its project on the Future of Media and the Information Needs of Communities, the Federal Communications Commission will hold a workshop on April 30, 2010, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the Commission Meeting Room, Room TW-C305, at 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C., on noncommercial media entitled "Public and Other Noncommercial Media in the Digital Era." The workshop will focus on:

  • Evolving business and organizational structures of public and other noncommercial media entities and the ways these are impacted by government policy;
  • The ways in which public and other noncommercial media entities do and could contribute to the information needs of communities across multiple platforms, focusing in particular on journalism, cultural, and educational content;
  • The possibilities for greater collaboration among noncommercial media entities such as public broadcasters, PEG channels, noncommercial web-based outlets, and other new media entities;
  • The role of public and other noncommercial media in serving the information needs of the underserved, including minorities, children, the disabled, and the economically disadvantaged;
  • The infrastructure needs and assets of public and other noncommercial media in delivering information to communities;
  • Innovative uses of social media, gaming, Internet applications, citizen journalism, mobile technologies, and other technological and organizational innovations; and
  • The possibilities for new kinds of noncommercial media networks and associated funding models. (See Press Release dated March 31, 2010).

The workshop is open to the public, with seating available on a first-come, first-served basis.  It will also be broadcast live over the Internet from the FCC Live web page at www.fcc.gov/live.  Questions from the Internet audience can be submitted throughout the course of the workshop via e-mail to futureofmedia@fcc.gov and via Twitter using the hash tag #FOMwkshop.

Agenda and Panelists

(All times EST; Panelists in alphabetical order)

9:00 a.m.    Welcome and Opening Remarks

  • Chairman Julius Genachowski
  • Steven Waldman, Senior Advisor to FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski, (Moderator)
  • Ellen Goodman, Professor, Rutgers School of Law and Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Future of Media Project (Co-Moderator)

9:15 a.m.    Framing Presentation:  A 1967 Moment... A Vision for Public Media

  • Luis Ubiñas, President, Ford Foundation (Taped address)
  • Ernest Wilson, Chair, Corporation for Public Broadcasting

9:30 a.m.    Panel Discussion I:  Varieties of Public and Noncommercial Media

  • Patricia Harrison, President and CEO, Corporation for Public Broadcasting  
  • Jose Luis Rodriguez, Founder & CEO, Hispanic Information and Telecommunications Network (HITN)
  • Jan Schaffer, Executive Director, J-Lab, The Institute for Interactive Journalism
  • Vivian Schiller, President & CEO, NPR (Via Remote Video)  
  • Hari Sreenivasan, Correspondent, NewsHour
  • Presenter:  Sue Schardt, President, Association of Independents in Radio

10:45 a.m.    Panel Discussion II: Purposes of Public and Noncommercial Media

  • David Fanning, Executive Producer, Frontline
  • James T. Hamilton, Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University
  • Paula Kerger, President, Public Broadcasting Service
  • Randolph J. May, President, The Free State Foundation
  • James O'Shea, Editor & Co-Founder, Chicago News Cooperative

12:00 p.m.    Break

1:00 p.m.    Panel Discussion III: New Platforms, Approaches and Structures

  • Joaquin Alvarado, Senior Vice President for Digital Innovation, American Public Media
  • Bill Buzenberg, Executive Director, The Center for Public Integrity
  • Maxie Jackson III, President and CEO, National Federation of Community Broadcasters
  • Nan Rubin, Chairperson of the Board, Prometheus Radio Project
  • Jake Shapiro, Executive Director, Public Radio Exchange (PRX)
  • Discussant:  Kinsey Wilson, SVP and General Manager NPR Digital Media

2:15p.m.    Panel Discussion IV: New Strategies for Supporting Public and Noncommercial Media

  • Craig Aaron, Managing Director, Free Press
  • Orlando Bagwell, Director, Freedom of Expression, Ford Foundation
  • Dean Baker, Co-Director, Center for Economic and Policy Research
  • Lee Bollinger, President, Columbia University
  • Steve Coll, President, New America Foundation

3:30 p.m.    Panel Discussion V: Communications and Regulatory Policy

  • Rod Bates, General Manager, Nebraska Educational Telecommunications
  • Terry Clifford, Co-CEO, SRG/ Station Resource Group
  • Susan Harmon, Managing Director, Public Radio Capital
  • Ken Ikeda, Executive Director, Bay Area Video Coalition (BAVC)
  • Bill Kling, President & CEO, American Public Media
  • Craig L. Parshall, Senior Vice President & General Counsel, National Religious Broadcasters

5:00 p.m.    Adjournment

Open captioning of the workshop will be provided.  Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities are available upon request.  Please include a description of the accommodation you will need, and a way that we can contact you if we need more information.  Last-minute requests will be accepted, but may not be possible to fill.  Send an e-mail to fcc504@fcc.gov or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (tty).

For further information, contact Krista Witanowski, Media Bureau, (202) 418-2449.